⚠ In case you've missed it, we have migrated to our new website, with a brand new forum. For more details about the migration you can read our blog post for website migration. This is an archived forum. ⚠

•     

profile picture

How to divide two numbers from a field and insert into the third field

mahadir

mahadir
  • profile picture

Posted 15 July 2015 - 04:47 AM

Hi.. im totally new in php and using grocerycrud is so easy... until i need to perform arithemetic operation and insert the result into other field. Below is the example:

Table : arithmetic

field : num1,num2 and num3

i need to ' add(num1+num2)/2 and store the result into field num3.

how am i going to put this into line of code and run in grocery crud..

thanks for your help.

Paul Savostin

Paul Savostin
  • profile picture

Posted 15 July 2015 - 11:01 AM

Are u waiting that anybody write all code for u?

How many fields u will output? Only num1 and num2 or num3 too?

Use callback_before_insert/callback_before_update

mahadir

mahadir
  • profile picture

Posted 15 July 2015 - 16:55 PM

No... Im not waiting for anybody to do it for me.... To tell you frankly.. I've been trying to solve this problem for 5 days without thinking to post at this forum... This is a lame question... Yeah... I know.... But i've been a way toooo long in the programming world... Vb 5 is my last programming i ever touched.... Thanks for your idea anyway.

Paul Savostin

Paul Savostin
  • profile picture

Posted 15 July 2015 - 21:22 PM

For me this is very easy task and I could help u but I need more information - controller code, mb db shema from phpmyadmin and the excatly logic that u want to achieve

For, example, u have 2 fields on insert/update state, then u write them and press save, next u can set third hidden field where u in callback before operation  function calculate what u need

or without hidden field just update/insert using callback after (insert/update) with pure update query to the database. That is it:)